The 1991 Dodgers

Team History: 1951-1997
1991 Record:
93-69, 2nd place in N.L. Western Division
Tommy Lasorda
Brett Butler, OF; Ramon Martinez, P (selected but replaced by Mike Morgan); Mike Morgan, P; Eddie Murray, 1B; Juan Samuel, 2B; Darryl Strawberry, OF (selected but replaced by Ivan Calderon, Montreal)
Home Attendance:

Season Recap:

The Dodgers finished the season with a 93-69 record which helped their string of placing first or second in the National League Western Division 16 times in 22 seasons. By winning 24 of their last 35 games in the 1991 season, the Dodgers placed second to division-winning Atlanta, one game behind the Braves. The Dodgers had a 54-27 record at Dodger Stadium, the most victories at home for any major league team. Fans supported the Dodgers in record numbers as 3,348,170 of them passed through the turnstiles, tops in the National League (an average of 41,335 per game) and the Dodgers recorded 27 sellouts. Dodger catcher Mike Scioscia became the club’s all-time leader in games caught on June 8 in Chicago with his 1,219th career game. The Dodger pitching staff had the best ERA in baseball (3.06). The rotation was led by right-hander Ramon Martinez and his 17 wins, followed by Mike Morgan who had 14, and Bob Ojeda with 12. Closer Jay Howell had 16 saves and 6 wins. The Dodgers were the only major league team to surrender fewer than 100 home runs (96) to the opposition. Pitcher Orel Hershiser won his 100th game as a Dodger on June 9 at Chicago. Outfielder Darryl Strawberry was one of six Dodgers selected for the All-Star Game as he batted .265 with 28 home runs and 99 RBI for the season. Strawberry set a Dodger player record of 7 RBI (grand slam and three-run homer) in one game at Dodger Stadium against San Diego on August 21. Outfielder Brett Butler set a National League record by playing 161 games without committing an error during the season, breaking the previous mark by Curt Flood of 159 games in 1966. Butler walked a league-leading 108 times and had 162 singles, tops on the Dodgers since Maury Wills had 165 in 1965.

Below are the Dodger Front Office department heads and personnel who worked for Peter O’Malley.

Board of Directors
Peter O’Malley, President; Harry M. Bardt; Roland Seidler, Jr., Vice President, Treasurer; Terry O’Malley Seidler, Secretary
Peter O’Malley
Executive Vice President, Player Personnel:
Fred Claire
Vice President, Communications:
Tommy Hawkins
Vice President, Finance:
Bob Graziano
Vice President, Marketing:
Barry Stockhamer
Vice President, Stadium Operations:
Bob Smith
Vice President, Ticketing:
Walter Nash
Vice President, Treasurer:
Roland Seidler, Jr.
Assistant Secretary and General Counsel:
Sam Fernandez
Assistant to the President:
Ike Ikuhara
Director, Accounting and Finance:
Bill Foltz
Director, Advertising and Special Events:
Paul Kalil
Director, Broadcasting and Publications:
Brent Shyer
Director, Community Relations:
Don Newcombe
Community Relations:
Roy Campanella
Director, Data Processing:
Mike Mularky
Director, Human Resources and Administration:
Irene Tanji
Director, Minor League Operations:
Charlie Blaney
Director, Publicity:
Jay Lucas
Assistant Director, Publicity:
Charles Harris
Director, Scouting:
Terry Reynolds
Financial Projects:
Ken Hasemann
Managing Director, Dodgertown:
Craig Callan
Traveling Secretary:
Billy DeLury
Team Doctors:
Dr. Frank W. Jobe; Dr. Michael F. Mellman; Herndon P. Harding Jr., M.D.